Nevitsky Castle

Nevitsky Castle is the oldest architectural landmark of Uzhgorod, located on the top of a picturesque hill. Under the assumptions of scientists, it was built in the 13 century on the site of a wooden structure. The authenticity of the castle has no analogues throughout Europe.

The first mention of Nevitsky Castle, as a royal structure, dates back to 1274 year. At that time, he acted as the controlling building of an important trade route to the Uzhhorod Pass. Later, it was a kind of fortress for the feudal lords of the Transcarpathian region, who protested against the royal rule of Charles the First Robert. Duget's coffins owned Nevitsky castles for three centuries, reconstructing it in Italian style.

In 1644, during the religious battles with Austria Nevitsky castle was partially destroyed by the Transylvanian prince Yuri First Rakoczy.

The legend tells of the "evil maiden" who, in order to build the castle, issued an order to select from the people the eggs and milk necessary for the building materials. She severely punished all protesting residents. On the "evil girl" complained throughout the district that reached the very King Matyasha. He summoned the woman to the trial, but she did not show up.

Then the ruler gathered an army, which was to go to the "evil maiden" and punish her. However, the witch had already fortified the castle so much that it was difficult to conquer it with a simple assault. The trick and wisdom of the king allowed the "evil witch" to be defeated by deception. Around the castle, all the cattle were gathered from nearby villages, ringing objects and bells were put on cows. The Royal army lit hundreds of torches and began to make noise at Nevitsky Castle. The mistress of the castle, hearing all this, was frightened of the artificially created assault and was forced to leave the castle. The king personally rushed after her and caught at the end of the Uzhok valley. The woman as soon as she did not try to charm the ruler, however he was adamant and took the sword from her shoulders to her head.

Up to now, the so-called square-shaped tower-dungeon, 4 towers in the corners and the tower above the gates, have been preserved. In addition, visitors to the castle can see unique sections of walls for defense, moat and ramparts. In the courtyard of the castle there is a well with a diameter of 3 and a half meter.

In 70-ies 20 centuries in the castle were carried out restoration work, during which on the ruins of the main tower equipped with a tent roof with four facets and a viewing platform. This building is an example of the fortification architecture of Transcarpathian lands, in which it is possible to see elements of combat equipment and fortification construction of the 13-16 century.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!